Companies from across the cruise and travel sector are celebrating after the winners of the Wave Awards, the ‘cruise industry Oscars’, were announced yesterday (16 November) at a glittering ceremony.

In total, 37 awards were handed out by host, Stephen Mangan, TV and film actor and presenter.

The big winner on the night was Seabourn, who picked up the special Grand Prix honour, which recognises those who have gone above and beyond to drive the industry forward.

CLIA UK and Ireland MD Andy Harmer was also awarded the Peter Grant Contribution to the Cruise Industry Award, for his tireless work to promote the cruise sector and provide valuable resources to travel agents.

The Wave Awards are the UK cruise industry’s premier accolades.

Now in their eighth year, they set a benchmark standard and recognise, reward and celebrate innovation and excellence within the sector.

The Wave Awards are managed, organised and produced by Real Response Media, the owners of World of Cruising and Cruise Trade News. Categories are open to cruise lines, travel agents, tourist boards, ports and the wider cruise industry.

The ceremony took place at a black-tie event and gala dinner at the Pan Pacific, in central London.

Wave Awards on the up

Real Response Media founder and CEO Chris Pitchford said: “Every year the Wave Awards gets bigger and better and this was our best awards yet. It was an amazing evening and we are so proud to host the biggest awards dedicated to the cruise industry.

“The scale of public voting and the calibre of judges for the trade section make winning a Wave Award a real accolade and something to be very proud of.

“Congratulations to all those who won on the night, and indeed all who were shortlisted, as the competition was stiff. Also, a huge thank you to all our sponsors for helping us put together the Wave Awards 2022.”

Stephen Mangan said: “It was a really lovely evening and there was a very friendly feeling in the room. As an industry, tonight was the perfect mix of being respectful to one another and having lots of energy. Huge congratulations to all of the winners.”

For the full list of winners, go to the

Sign In

Lost your password?